Notes from May 21 Meeting – Learn How to be a Better Phone Banker, Social Media Pusher and GO Teamer

Democratic Woman’s Club of San Diego County May 21, 2018 Regular Monthly Meeting, Elijah’s Restaurant

President Susan Peinado opened the meeting at 7:08pm.

Guests and Candidates

  • Doug Case – representing State Senator Toni Atkins
  • Cathie Hyatt – representing Ammar Campa Najjar, candidate for CA Congressional Dist. 50
  • Dominic Nguyen – representing Dave Myers, candidate for Sheriff
  • Lynn Powell-Macklin – representing Dave Myers, candidate for Sheriff
  • Matt Brower – candidate for Superior Court Judge

President’s Report

  • Full Voter Participation petition DWC earnings reported as $1226.00
  • DWC members Anne Hoiberg and Georgette Gomez received Moxie Awards last night as well as MaryAnne Pintaur
  • Continued support of discussed and encouraged
  • Fundraiser for Genevieve Jones-Wright, April 20, DWC reps sponsoring/attending went well and was appreciated
  • RBG Viewing Party with Indivisible went well. All tickets sold
  • Update on Resolution in support of the MLKJr Dem Club
  • Discussion of needed DWC committees/working groups (marketing, social events, political action)
  • Resolution draft on Dissent Management and Unity Initiative for SD Democratic Party – Kelly King (handout)
  • Cultural Diversity Workshop being planned for July 7, 2018

Treasurer’s Report

  • Rosamond Blevins, details of cash on hand


  • Be a Better Phone Banker (Speak Your Passion!) – Kelly King (handout)
  • Free the Vote – Cathie Hyatt, Oren Robinson
  • Social Media Training – Panel
  • Oren Robinson – Facebook, Dem Clubs Endorsements resource
  • Becca Miller – Twitter (handout)
  • Jodie Lorea – Rapid Resist texting campaign w/Hustle
  • John Loughlin – Go Team, MiniVan canvassing app, Slack

Call for old and/new business
Announcements from the floor

  • Election result watch event TBD.

Next regular meeting is 7pm, Monday, June 18, at Elijah’s Restaurant.

Photo Credit: John Loughlin. Moxielicous evening with @MOXIETheatreCo and their awardees including @GGomezD9 Anne Hoiberg, Ellen Montanari and @mapintar