Notes from August 16 Endorsement Meeting

Endorsed: Kate Bishop, Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson, Marcus Bush and José Rodriguez. Rated Acceptable: Shari Mackin, Amber Newman, Michelle Gomez, Jane Marshall, Morgan McCray, Rob Howard and Esther Sanchez.

Yvonne Elkin, Endorsement Committee Chair

Endorsement Meeting: Sunday, August 16, 2020 via Zoom

11:00AM Club President, Susan Peinado calls meeting to order and turns it over to Endorsement Chair, Yvonne Elkin

Procedure explanation and instructions for voting electronically.

Races in which we will attempt to endorse:

  • Chula Vista Elementary School Board Area 4
  • National City City Council
  • Oceanside City Council District 3
  • Oceanside City Council District 4
  • Oceanside Mayor
  • Vallecitos Water Board Division 5

Member Discussion – Speakers for and against candidates

Announcements (All events/meetings are virtual)

  • Many thanks to all the members of the endorsment committee!
  • Videos from comedian Sara Cooper
  • Preview of next DWC meeting scheduled for Monday, August 17, 2020
  • Jane Marshall – Recommendation of Rise Up on KPBS 
  • Kate Bishop – Friday Trivia Nights
  • Andrea Cardenas – Candidate for Chula Vista City Council
  • Michelle Krug – 2020 Census
  • Nora Vargas – Candidate for County Board of Supervisors District 1
  • Sample Trivia

1:30PM Voting closed. Counting team begins to review the results.


  • Chula Vista Elementary School Board Area 4 – Kate Bishop Endorsed
  • National City City Council – Marcus Bush and José Rodriguez Endorsed
  • Oceanside City Council District 3 – Shari Mackin and Amber Newman Rated Acceptable
  • Oceanside City Council District 4 – Michelle Gomez, Jane Marshall and Morgan McCray Rated Acceptable
  • Oceanside Mayor – Rob Howard and Esther Sanchez Rated Acceptable
  • Vallecitos Water Board Division 5 – Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson

2:47PM: Meeting adjourned 

Next regular meeting – Monday, August 17, 6:30PM discussing the Census, Board of Supervisors, COVID.

Notes by Cathie Hyatt, Secretary

One reply on “Notes from August 16 Endorsement Meeting”