Notes from Apr 16 Meeting – Endorsements and Actions

Democratic Woman’s Club of San Diego County April 16, 2018 Regular Monthly Meeting, Elijah’s Restaurant

President Susan Peinado opened the meeting at 7pm

Approval of Agenda by unanimous vote

Guests and Candidates (not seeking endorsement tonight):

  • Doug Case – representing State Senator Toni Atkins
  • Mary Marshall – representing Ammar Campa Najjar, candidate for CA Congressional District. 50
  • Oren Robinson – representing Fayaz Nawabi, candidate for SD City Council District 6
  • Carol Gendal – representing Elizabeth Warren, candidate for CA State Assembly District 76
  • Dominic Nguyen – representing Dave Myers, candidate for Sheriff
  • Rafael Perez – candidate for San Diego Community College Board
  • Michelle Krug – Full Voter Participation and Prop 13 petitions
  • Cody Petterson – Prop 13 petition

President’s Report: Susan Peinado

  • Full Voter Participation petition reminder
  • June 5, Gubernatorial Primary handout and discussion
  • Moxie Theatre play, The Madres, discussion of dates for DWC attendance
  • Support of proposed, discussed, motioned, and approved
  • Fundraiser for Genevieve Jones-Wright, April 20, DWC reps sponsoring/attending
  • Resolution on anti-harassment training for candidates and party leaders in development
  • Bylaws – an introduction
  • Martin Luther King Jr Democratic Club Resolution – VP Internal, Becca Miller; Past President, Emily Bonner; MLK Jr Democratic Club, Tasha Williamson
  • Discussion of events surrounding Roosevelt Dinner
  • Motioned, seconded, and approved to waive resolution notice requirements as allowed in bylaws
  • Motioned, seconded, and unanimously approved to sign on to resolution

Treasurer’s Report: Rosamond Blevins

Endorsements: Run by Dr. Doreen Mattingly – candidates must get 60% of the vote to be endorsed

Chula Vista School Board Seat 5

  • Kate Bishop
  • Eduardo Reyes – Endorsed

San Diego Unified School District C (friendly incumbent)

  • Dr. Michael McQuary – Endorsed

Southwestern Community College Seat 4

  • Leticia Cazares – Endorsed
  • Nicole Jones

California Senate 38 (friendly incumbent)

  • Jeff Griffith – Endorsed

San Diego County Board of Supervisors District 5

  • Michelle Gomez – Endorsed
  • Jacqueline Arsivaud Benjamin (absent, no proxy)

Call for old and/new business.

Announcements from the floor:

  • Susan Peinado – High School student voter registration event and student walkout against gun violence, April 20
  • Kelly King – Encouragement to speak up against harassment
  • Recognition and thanks to the DWC Endorsement Team
  • Michelle Krug – New citizens voter registration opportunity, April 18
  • John Loughlin – Stand Up for CA Values Rally, April 17
  • Codi Vierra – California Young Democrats fundraiser in Orange County
  • Lynn Gerson – Delaine Eastin lawn signs available and Day of Action, April 28

Endorsed candidates assembled for photo.
Meeting adjourned at 9:24pm.
Next regular meeting is 7pm, Monday, May 21, at Elijah’s Restaurant.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s