Notes from Mar 19 Meeting – Endorsements and Actions

Democratic Woman’s Club of San Diego County March 19, 2018 Meeting, Elijah’s Restaurant
President Susan Peinado opened the meeting at 7pm.

Guests and Candidates (not seeking endorsement tonight):

  • Doug Case – representing State Senator Toni Atkins
  • Judy Ki – animal cruelty petition
  • Jeff Griffith – candidate for CA State Senate District 38
  • Kate Bishop – candidate for Chula Vista School Board District 5
  • Victor Torres – candidate for Superior Court Judge
  • Matt Brower – candidate for Superior Court Judge
  • Katie Meyer – representing Ammar Campa Najjar, candidate for CA Congressional Dist. 50
  • Volunteer for Delaine Easton – candidate for Governor
  • Leticia Cazares – candidate for Southwestern Community College Board
  • Dominic Nguyen – representing Dave Myers, candidate for Sheriff
  • Michelle Gomez – candidate for County Board of Supervisors District 5
  • Jennifer Campbell – candidate for San Diego City Council District 3
  • Sara Jacobs – candidate for US Congressional District 49
  • Marggie Castellano – candidate for State Senate District 36
  • Mark Bartlett – candidate for Chula Vista City Council District 1

Announcement and confirmation of Club GoTeam Representative to the County Party – Alyce Pipkin-Allen

Emiliana Sparaco, Organizer, SEIU Local 221: Full Voter Participation Initiative. Petitions distributed to club members.

Endorsements: Run by Dr. Doreen Mattingly – candidates must get 60% of the vote to be endorsed.

Friendly Incumbent Endorsements

  • Kevin Beiser: San Diego Unified District B – Endorsed
  • Scott Peters: 52nd Congressional District – Endorsed (Proxy: Codi Vierra)
  • Nora Vargas: Southwestern Community College Board, Seat 2 – Endorsed


75th Assembly District

  • Alan GeraciEndorsed

San Diego Community College District E

  • Sean EloEndorsed
  • Rafael Perez

San Diego City Council District 6

  • Tommy Hough
  • Fayaz NawabiEndorsed
  • Matt Valenti

President’s Report

  • Robert’s Rules reminder
  • The agenda was approved with a unanimous voice vote
  • Roosevelt Dinner, April 7, 2018, second club table purchased.
  • Oren Robinson provided details (Ramla Sahid, Michelle Krug to be honored).

Becca Miller,VP Internal: Club donation basket items for Roosevelt Dinner.

Kris Harvey: Turnover in current administration. (Handout)

Rosamond Blevins: Treasurer’s Report – over new credit union account

Meeting adjourned at 9:05pm

Notes: Cathie Hyatt
Photos: John Loughlin

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s